The Township of Nipigon has various committees and boards that offer input and advice to Council on the issues that touch on their respective mandates. If you are interested in sitting on one of the Township Committees or Boards, please fill out an application form.

Culture and Recreation Committee

The Culture and Recreation Committee meets the 3rd Monday of the month, approximately 10 times per year, to consider and advise Council on operations and developments of facilities, and to plan programming and events. Facilities include the Nipigon Community Centre, Swimming Pool, Tennis Court, Recreation Field, Curling Club and Edge Arts Building. Annual events include the Winter Carnival and 5K Run.


  • Kristin Dutil - Culture and Recreation Manager
  • Michael Elliot - Council Representative
  • Hugh Mableson
  • Celeste Mannila
  • Debbie Mahoney
Sub-Committees of Culture and Recreation
Blueberry Blast Committee


  • Carol Ann Banning
  • Brad Randa
  • Linda Robinson
  • Glenn Hart
Trails Committee


  • Tom Borg
  • Rob Swainson
  • Chris Leale
  • Ashley Davis
  • Nick Wawia
  • Michael Elliott
  • Colin Crowell
  • Jason Nicol
Edge Arts Committee


  • Karin Mackenzie
  • Kelly Grant
  • Angelina Mackenzie
  • Sharla Pleson
  • Francine Herbert
  • Shavone Lesperance
  • Eveline Maedel
  • Sumiye Sugawara

Culture and Recreation Committee Minutes

Public Works Committee

Meets once per month between Council Meetings to consider matters related to operations and maintenance, repairs and construction of all Municipal Properties.


  • Richard Harvey
  • James Foulds
  • Andrew St. Jean
  • Michael Elliott
  • John Zechner Jr.
  • Geoff Aitken, Public Works Superintendent
Sub-Committee of Public Works
Recycling Committee

A sub committee of Public Works, meets 3 – 4 times per year to discuss matters regarding Public Education and Promotion, plan community events and strategies to increase public use of the recycling facilities and initiatives.


  • Kristin Dutil
  • Glena Clearwater
  • Kristen Maenpaa
  • Melissa McDonald
  • Melissa Harvey

Public Works Committee Minutes

Museum Committee

The Museum Committee meets on the first Monday of the month, 8 – 10 times per year, to advise Council on operations and development. They assist the curator with special projects as needed.


  • Curator Betty Brill
  • Chair Chris Leale
  • Kristin Dutil
  • Rob Swainson
  • Jim McCullough
  • Linda Robinson
  • Albertine Van Ogtrop

Museum Committee Minutes

Cemetery Committee

Cemetery Committee meets once a month 10 times per year to advise Council on policy for the operation and maintenance of Cliffside Cemetery.


  • Ron Cheetham
  • Phyllis Gauvin
  • Bill Harmon
  • Glena Clearwater
  • Geoff Aitken, Public Works Superintendent

Cemetery Committee Minutes

Economic Development Committee

Economic Development Committee meets the second Wednesday of each month. Some of the things they consider and make recommendations to Council on: Investment Readiness, Business Attraction, Retention and Expansion, Promoting Nipigon and the wider region for tourism and lifestyle, encourage partnerships with organizations, municipalities and First Nations.


  • Linda Harbinson
  • Jim McCullough
  • Glenn Hart
  • Darrell Makin
  • Dan Bevilacqua
  • Kristin Dutil

Economic Development Committee Minutes

Committee of Adjustment

Meets as needed to oversee Public Hearings for applications of Consent to Sever or Minor Variances.


  • Kelly Paakkunainen
  • John Pothof
  • Gord Mackenzie
  • James Foulds

Committee of Adjustment Minutes

Expression of Interest Application Form

Expression of Interest Application Form

Download an Expression of Interest to Volunteer for Boards and Committees Expression of Interest Application Form and email the completed form to or fill out the online form below.

NOTICE OF COLLECTION: Personal information, as defined by the Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (MFIPPA) is collected under the authority of the Municipal Act, 2011, and in accordance with the provisions of the MFIPPA. Personal information on this form will be used to assess the applicant’s eligibility for volunteer positions or qualifications for appointments to one of the various committees or boards. At no time will your personal information by disclosed without your express written consent. Questions regarding the collection, use, and disclosure of this personal information may be directed to the Township of Nipigon at 807-887-3135.

The Municipal liability policy extends to cover Committees of Council that are formed by, under the direction of, and approved by Council, subject to the policy terms, conditions and exclusions. Municipal liability also extends to volunteers who donate their work and act at the direction of and within the scope of duties determined by the Municipality subject to the policy terms, conditions and exclusions.

Contact Us

Nipigon logo

52 Front Street
PO Box 160
Nipigon, ON
P0T 2J0

  • Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM