We apologize for any inconvenience!Read More
A to Z Listings AccommodationsAlcohol RetailArtisans/CraftsAutomotiveBusiness ServicesChildcare ServicesChurchesClubsCommercial / Residential ServicesCommunity Organizations and ServicesCulture / EntertainmentDentalEducationEmergency ServicesFamilyFestivalsFinancial ServicesFirst NationsGovernment ServicesGrocery / Convenience / GasGuides / Charter ServicesHealth and BeautyKennelsLegal / Insurance ServicesMediaMunicipalOrganizationsRecreationRestaurants and CateringRetail / Merchandise / HardwareTransportation
Nipigon Historical Walking Tour
Description of Services:
Stop by the Nipigon Museum and pick up the Historical Walk Through Nipigon guide book and get prepared to take a walk through time and savour the tales old buildings have to tell.
Starting with the “Red Rock Post”, which was the first permanent trading post in the area, to the “First Anglican Rectory”, which was established in 1908, this tour hosts 30 historical buildings in the township of Nipigon.
Archaeological evidence indicates that people may have lived in the Nipigon area for 9000 years. In the more recent past, rock paintings on the mouth of the Nipigon River show an Aboriginal presence and predate European contact by several hundred years.
Claude Greysolon Dulhut established the first permanent trading post on the mouth of the Nipigon River in 1679, making Nipigon the oldest settlement on the north shore of Lake Superior. Development took off when the Hudson’s Bay Company built Red Rock Post in 1859. Their 350 foot wharf permitted steamboats to make regular stops, and by 1871, the Post was the acting headquarters for the entire Nipigon River watershed.
The arrival of the CPR changed the focal point of the community from the river to Front Street. Red Rock Post became known as Nepigon, and later Nipigon. The first town election was held in 1909.
The guide book gives you the history and the building plaques provide the direction to this unique experience.